Claiming Life After a Hard Day

Cindy just gave me a reminder of the power of faith over fatalism. My previous post was more than a bit dour and dark, and probably not that helpful to Narcie or anyone else. Authentic, real – yep, that’s me and that’s what I was feeling about life in general earlier today. The horrible events in Boston haven’t changed the ugly realities of life, but my dear wife is a glass more than half full kind of person and has reminded me of LIFE in Christ. I ought to know better anyway. Life always wins!

After Mt. St. Helens blew up who would have thought that plants and wildlife would return, but they’re there. Terrorists of all kinds would love nothing better than make us cower in fear. Jesus said that he came to give abundant life (John 10:10). Tonight as I lay down, it will not be the sleep of the scared or afraid. It will be the sleep of the confident. Faith, you see, is always resilient. The light shines best in the darkness. Boston will rebound. Narcie is going to do the same and better!

Earlier today I chose fear over faith. Tonight I am aiming for heaven and will rest in a loving God’s arms. As the Scriptures say in Psalm 30:5, “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” My funky Monday is done and joy is mine tonight. As someone aptly put it, “Joy is not the absence of suffering, it is the presence of God.” I will go to bed in solidarity with the sorrowful and wounded, but I am going to wake up with the resilient Spirit of Beacon Hill and Boston. To do less is to yield to tyranny.

It is Easter season yet and I need to act like it! As Peter Bohler said to weak-kneed John Wesley, “Preach faith until you have it.” So, here’s at you life with all your vagaries: Bring it on and see who wins. It will be Christ in me, the hope of glory! I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of Truth who says, “Do not be afraid!”

7 thoughts on “Claiming Life After a Hard Day

  1. Tim, don’t feel guilt for normal human frustration. It’s OK to have some doubt in these situations. I remember when Mickey (my wife), was ill, how sometimes I felt so angry when people wished us well. I knew in my heart they meant well but I just got tired of hearing about it. I learned from that experience that many people loved us and were concerned about her. I also learned that it’s OK to get mad at God, just don’t stay that way. God has big shoulders and can take it. I also know that each person’s experience is different even if they are similar, so I will not say I know how you feel. Just know that Sara and I are here for you and we are praying for you and your family. And yes, our hope is our trust in the Lord in all things.

  2. Tim, I’m thankful for the times you are dour (which isn’t often) AND when you are delightful. Both are real and valid emotions on our faith journey. That is why I love reading you!

Leave a Reply

